Number of duplicates

Pltrmgrl
Pltrmgrl
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hello,

I'm brand new to Smartsheets. Is there a way to find the number of duplicates in a column for a specific value? For example, how many "John Smiths" are in a list of names? 

Many thanks,

Pltrmgrl 

Tags:

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

You could do a quick formula using countif. 

=countifs([column name]:[column name], "John Smith")

Would count the number of times the name John Smith appears in a column. 

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Not to say Mike's formula won't work. It will. I just wanted to expand on it a little bit and maybe provide some other options.

If you add a column that has a quick list of each name entered only once, you could build off of Mike's formula and use

=countifs([column name]:[column name], [list column name]@row)

next to each name in the list column. That would give you the same result and keep all data in a central location. Adding -1 to the end of the formula would give you how many times it shows up in the first column, not including the first occurrence.

If John Smith is on the list twice, the first formula will give you a count of two total occurrences. The second formula (with -1 on the end) will give you a count of 1 duplicate entry.

It just depends on exactly what you are looking for and how you want to display the data.

• Hi,

I can see that this is an older thread, but I have searched high and low to find a solution but haven't been successful.

I'm trying to find a way that will identify the Second occurrence of a duplicate, only.

For this exercise, I'm only looking at one Column [Receipit_ID]

Row [Receipt_ID]

1 NCC007533

2 NCC007525

3 NCC007533

4 NCC007533

5 NCC007525

6 NCC007525

I can get the Duplication flag, using a Checkbox column with formula

=IF([Receipt_ID]1 = 0, 0, IF(COUNTIF([Receipt_ID]:[Receipt_ID], [Receipt_ID]1) > 1, 1))

I have also tried using a "Duplicate Count" formula