Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Smartsheet for Inventory using QR codes

Options
LuCi
LuCi
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

Hello everyone,

I'm a teacher who has to manage a "MakerSpace" - a design studio with lots of electronic equipment. It would be ideal if I could place a QR code sticker on an object, take a snapshot of it with the camera on an ipad, and arrive at the inventory Smartsheet that I've created where this object's original purchase price, date of purchase, next sheduled maintenance, etc is tracked.

Is this possible? Any pointers or walk-through by an more experienced user would be much appreciated!

Comments

• LuCi
    Options

Thanks Travis! I am pressing pause on my "Liquid Planner" crash course tutorial and closing the window for purchasing "Home Inventory" app right now to try out your solution - could really help my SmartSheet use!

• Travis
    Travis Employee
    Options

Happy to hear you are giving Smartsheet a try! I think you will be happy with your results :)

Here is my post from this thread:

LuCi, you can absolutely have a QR code that brings you to a sheet on your iPad, containing information about the item.   

Here are the steps:

1. Open the sheet on your computer and select the Sharing tab

2. Copy the Secure Sheet Link

3. Create a QR code from the Secure Sheet Link (there are many options for this. Google search "QR code generator")

4. Print and adhere the QR codes to your items

5. Scan items with a QR code scanner on your iPad  

Scanning the QR code will bring you to the sheet containing the information.