Getting status of a RYG with a Date Column

Options
pbeahn40831
pbeahn40831 ✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Greetings, 

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am a newbie to both programming functions and to Smartsheet. I am working on a sheet where I require to report out the RYG Balls on the end of calendar months. 

I have two columns I need to create a function for- "Date of Update" and "Status Report."  When the Status is turned, the date column updates with the "today's date".

But now, going forward, I want to manage a monthly report where it shows the end of the Month day, followed by a count of the status of each color. In other words, (September = 3R, 5Y, 19G,) and (October = 4R, 2Y, 8G,) and ... The report will appear on a Bargraph Dashboard widget monthly.

Since I am new with this, I have looked at COUNTIFS, VLOOKUP, IF/AND, but am missing something. 

Your help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Tags:

Comments

• eric.o
    eric.o Employee
    Options

Hello,

Happy to help! I've addressed your desires in the order received.

1. If you desire that when "Status Report." is changed the "Date of Update" will be changed to today's date, you may be able to achieve this utilizing a Modified By column which is further outlined here: https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/1964567-system-columns

Note: The Modified Date alters to the date of the rows last modification. Which may not be ideal.  Currently, we don’t have a method to Timestamp date columns utilizing formulas but this will be considered as a possibility for future development.