Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

What is the best approach for using discussions?

We are the function a discussions quite heavily. However I wonder what is the best approach to organize discussions. 

When do you start a discussion?

How do share a discussion?

When do you stop a discussion?

Finally, can you archive a discussion?

Kr,

Wouter

Comments

• Alla T.
    Alla T.
    edited 02/08/16

Hi Wouter,

I am a UX designer at Smartsheet, currently working on the discussions feature. Would you be interested in setting up a phonecall to discuss your questions and provide feedback on our upcoming updates to discussions?

You can reach me at

alla.taborisskaya@smartsheet.com

Thank you,

-Alla. 

• I like the discussions feature, but one issue is that when people post a question ( versus some general comment ) to a discussion, it tends to get "lost". 

One thing Box does is let you add a username to a discussion, and that person gets pinged with an email. I think that would be very useful.

Also, it would be very helpful to enable the user to flag a discussion that needs a response so it's visible on the sheet, maybe changing the discussion icon to an icon with a "?" or something similar, so I could filter a sheet and find these discussions easily.  

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Related to Mike's comment, I'd like discussion changes and attachment changes to show up at things that will change the modified by and modified date sytstem columns.

Craig

• HI

Discussions are the ban of my life...

We use them extensively to do most of our internal commuciation and I still haven't foun the right way to use these.