Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Adding Parent Rows in reports

Tariq Shaikh
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

I am still learning my way around in SmartSheets and need some more help!

I have created a report to show all "Past due" actions by owner. The report only lists children as we calculate Past Due status at this level - not at Parent level. Is there any way to include parent rows in this report, even if they don't have a "Past Due Status" but one or more of their children may hve this status?

Comments

• JamesR
    JamesR ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Tariq,

Have a value in the parent row that does not appear in any other rows and then include that as part of the Report in the report builder. Perhaps th Name of the Hierarchy.

• Tim Meeks
    Tim Meeks ✭✭✭✭✭✭

To be specific on what James suggested, we have a Project Status Report that has parent rows and child rows underneath.  We ONLY want to pull the Parent Rows on the Report, so we put a Project # in the PARENT Rows and tell the report to ONLY pull if the Project # is not blank. You could do something similar per James' suggestion and even hide this indicator column.

Tim

• Thanks James and Tim. I have tried both options but am not getting the results i need. The Parents in my sheet are jobs requested by customers, while children are tasks assigned to technicians to complete the customer requested jobs. I have added a column for "Project ID" and each Job has a numeric "Project ID", while tasks are not numbered.

I am trying to set up a report to show all rows with a numeric Project ID (i.e. the Parent) and any tasks that are either past due or will become due in the next 2 weeksby using the following formula in Smartsheet (in all rows, including Parent rows):