Using If/Then Formula

MgtCon
MgtCon
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I'm new to Smartsheet and have a drop down menu that needs to tie to another column/field I am trying to create a if/then formula but obviously I'm doing something wrong as I keep getting an #UNPARSEABLE error.  I'm trying to say "if Industry Examinations equals Series 24, then add the description, and if not, then leave blank. Help?! Thank you!

=if([Industry Examinations]=Series 24,"150 multiple choice questions; 3 hours and 30 minutes testing time. This examination qualifies individuals required to register as general securities principals in order to manage or supervise the member's investment banking or securities business for corporate securities, direct participation programs, and investment company products/variable contracts.","")

Tags:

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Can you describe your process in more detail and maybe share the sheet(s) or some screenshots? (Delete/replace any confidential/sensitive information before sharing) That would make it easier to help. (share too, andree@getdone.se)

Hope that helps!

Have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

work-bold

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Hi Mgt/Con-

What does Series 24 represent?  Is this part of your drop down text?  If so then it needs to have quotes around it.  Otherwise everything looks fine.  I am assuming that [Industry Examinations] will have the row number after it in the actual case  (example [Industry Examinations]17="Series 24"......   )