👋 Welcome! Introduce yourself and connect with your peers in Education to receive your industry badge.

Formula to count of items in a multi dropdown list

Options
1235»

Answers

• Julie HB
    Options

Total newbie here, and I'm failing using the terrific, hands-on guidance above. I have a reference sheet with a multi-select dropdown column. [FWIW: in our case, in the platform column, one is selecting which social media platform(s) we posted to.] Here's a sample:

In a separate sheet, I'd like to count how many times a particular dropdown item (e.g. Advocates Facebook, Advocates LinkedIn, etc) is selected, whether on its own or as one of multiple selections in a given row. Instead, it's only counting the number of times the selection is made on its own, like so:

I've tried using the CONTAINS and HAS formulas as written above and keep coming back unparseable or the like, so I'm wondering if anyone has any tips!

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Options

Hey @Julie HB

Try this:

=COUNTIFS({Platform Column Reference}, HAS(@cell, [Primary Column]@row))

The {reference} would need to be manually created to look specifically at your Platform column. Let me know if this works for you! If not, it would be helpful to see the formula open in the sheet.

Cheers,

Genevieve

• Julie HB
    Options

Thanks, Genevieve. I appreciate the help! This is how the current formula looks:

This is the formula that only counts the instances when a platform appears on its own, not as one of multiple selections.

Using your formula, I think I need to replace "Platform Column Reference" with the column from my source sheet, and that part seems to work fine.