Looking for a formula for checked boxes xx/xx checked

Options
tbiztec
tbiztec
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I am working on a tracking type of sheet. I have 4 columns that i have inserted check marks for:

D2:D301

I2:I301

N2:301

S2:S177

The check marks are great, but i would like to take this one step further and have a tracker up at the top that as an example says xx/1072 to signify how many boxes are checked out of how many total.  Any help  would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!

Tags:

Comments

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

To count how many are checked...

=COUNTIFS(D2:D301, 1)

To count the total...

=COUNTIFS(D2:D301, OR(@cell = 1, @cell = 0))

Now we just add the / in the middle and you get...

=COUNTIFS(D2:D301, 1) + "/" + COUNTIFS(D2:D301, OR(@cell = 1, @cell = 0))

• tbiztec
    Options

Thank you for your reply, i have never used the count ifs before so that is handy to know and learn more about. I am running into an issue in the first step though. I tried to do everything at once and that was a mess lol, so i broke it down by step. When i start with just this:

=COUNTIFS(D2:D301, 1)

i do get a count, but that count is 0. When i try to change that 1 to a 0 like so:

=COUNTIFS(D2:D301, 0)

i also get 0. Any idea's? I am assuming the 1/0 are a true and false type of statement, but i find it weird they are both returning as 0. I double checked i had the right cells selected, just in case.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

And the column type is definitely a checkbox type column? It's odd that it won't register the 1 vs 0 (which yes is a true = 1 vs false = 0 type of value).

• tbiztec
    tbiztec
    edited 10/08/19
    Options

I added a small screenshot to show the formula that i have, the cells included (which i lowered just to test)  and to show the check marks. I also have tried the 1 and 0 for true and false in the same spot as the formula to see if i got anything different.