Master Contact List for use across sheets in a workspace

2»

Comments

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Ugh. I can't even begin to tell you how many times I have forgotten to change the column type until something isn't working right. Haha. I'm glad you were able to get it figured out.

• Rsteer
    Rsteer ✭✭
    edited 10/22/22

I share the same ORIGINAL question as @Cheryl Crouse and @Paul Lambert . (Caveat/background: I'm a Smartsheet account admin, but a fairly novice user.)

@Paul Newcome's solution works to simply look up the email associated with a name, but it does not seem to really be creating a contact list entry that can be used the way @Cheryl Crouse, @Paul Lambert, @Bill Rigney, @Andria Hoyle, and I would like. (Although see my parenthetical caveat at the end -- but even that doesn't negate the first point below.)

😕 Most importantly, this approach can't populate a drop-down list in a column header, so if multiple sheets share that same drop-down list (staff, contacts, stakeholders, etc.), each sheet and column has to be individually changed each time the personnel list changes. Extremely time-wasting. Not only is the drop-down potentially an important user-interface feature, it is ALSO the only way to use those people as "lanes" in a card view. Simply looking up an email to fill a cell is not the same.

It should be a fairly obvious feature for Smartsheet that the drop-down setting in a column header (of contact-list type) would allow reference to a 3-column sheet containing email, first name, and last name. You know, choose one option: reference a contact sheet or manual entry of a list. (In fact, even other data types should allow the drop-down to be populated by reference to a sheet.)