Multiple Projects = Multiple Sheets?

Amanda Jaffke
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

HELP! Our company is moving to Smartsheet and I have very limited knowledge on set up and functionality. I've gone through the videos and read almost every tutorial and I know I have much to learn but the main question I have is the initial set up. I feel the set up is crucial and if I can get that correct, I can get everything else. Let me give you some background. I am a Project Manager for a Real Estate Developer. I have 4 different shopping centers and within each of those properties are retailers. (Think Malls!!)  I have a list of specific tasks that I have to track that are the same for all retailers no matter what property they are on. So, my boss (Who is new to SS too) set us up a sheet for each retailer. At the moment, I am currently up to 37 sheets with MANY more to come. Each one of those sheets roll up to a Property Specific Sheet with a minimal overview. I have to update each of the 37 sheets individually to keep track of my projects. This is extremely time consuming and cumbersome and makes all of us want to just stick with my Excel spreadsheet. So basically if I have 4 properties and each one has 50 tenants, I will have 200 sheets that I have to go into individually to update and track. Please tell me there's another way!! Please.....

Ideally, I'd like to see all my properties, retailers and tasks on ONE sheet and be able to update in ONE location. If I can't do that, can I have a "Property A" sheet that only lists retailers at Property A and all the tasks associated with each retailer? That would limit me to only 4 sheets to update. I would greatly appreciate any input!

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 10/22/19

Hi Amanda,

There are a few different ways to structure a solution.

Reports and dashboards or possibly a solution where everything is collected in one sheet. I'd need more information to be able to give more specific advice.