Is there a way to have a column automatically pull data from multiple columns based on the month/yea

Brad Bonner
Brad Bonner ✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I have a master sheet that includes data for multiple projects from different months. I'm trying to generate a column that pulls the data from the current month. The intent is to create a cell that populates automatically and can be referenced on a dashboard.

I have tried to use the index/match formula with no success. I tried to use row 1 for the "searchable" content. My initial thought was that I could search for the column that includes today's month and year.

I tried combining =LEFT command with MONTH(TODAY()) to return the left 2 numbers from row1. I also figured that I need to use =RIGHT command with YEAR(TODAY()) to return the year from row1. 

There might be a much simpler way to accomplish this.

Please help!

Annotation 2019-11-04 163407.jpg

Comments

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

Hi Brad,

In order to perform calculations with dates you need to have Date column type set up in your sheet. I would suggest switching the placement of your information to have your months all in one column, with Project 1 and Project 2 two other columns.

Once you have your dates set up in a date column type, then you can run formulas to find the Month. For what you are looking to do, to see the data for both this current month and year, you will want to set up a helper column first. This helper column will return the Month number, but only IF it the month is in this current year. Otherwise, it will return a blank cell. I have attached an example of how you may want to organize your sheet below.

You will notice that in my second example image I have used this formula:

=IF(YEAR([Month/Year]@row) = YEAR(TODAY()), MONTH([Month/Year]@row), "")