Combining cells from one sheet into a single cell on another sheet

I have a master spreadsheet with many columns (sheet1). From that, I want to create a second sheet with fewer columns (sheet2). The first column in sheet1 is 3 cells combined (=[Column1]1 + "-" + [Column2]1 + "-" + [Column3]1). In sheet2 I only need the info from Column2 and Column3. Is there any way to do this from a single reference?

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Are you able to provide screenshots of the two sheets with sensitive/confidential data removed, blocked, or replaced with "dummy data" as needed? Maybe include an example that is manually entered to show exactly how you want the end result to look?

• So I have the sheet in the first screen shot (Shot1). The Lookup column is a combination of the other 4 columns (Technical Category through Activity) and is achieved with this formula - "=[Technical Category]1 + "-" + [Functional Area]1 + "-" + [Tool Name]1 + "-" + Activity1".

I have a second sheet that I want to be able to take columns Functional Area, Tool Name, and Activity from the first sheet and use that. I have been able to take those 3 columns and linked to them, using those to create my cell as above but I then need to hide those 3 columns where I would rather make the straight reference into the Task column from the second screen shot (Shot2).

Hope this makes sense. Thanks

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

What do you mean by "linked"? Are you using a formula with cross sheet references or are you using cell linking? What is the end goal for this data?

Having additional columns is going to end up being the easiest way to go regardless. If I am correctly following what you are trying to do, you very well could end up using a rather complex formula.