Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Tracking a date change

Linda Woodworth
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

I am new to Smartsheet in a company with limited knowledge about the features.  We use a combination of sheets and a web form for 'ad-hoc' requests that are managed in a queue.  In the queue, there is a "Due Date" column.  This date can change over time and the manager for the area would love to be able to track that change and report off of it.  

In other words, when the request was created (via the web form) it will come with a due date (say 11/5/16).  Over time, that date may change once or many times until the request is completed (the Due Date could now be 12/15/16).   I know you can see the history of the cell but we ideally would want to do some historical reporting off of the changes made.  

On another sheet, we use a 'planned date' vs a 'revised date' column but that is a bit clumsy.

Thoughts?

Comments

• I am also looking for a way to do this. Very interested if anyone has any ideas

• I suggest using Zapier or Azuqua to automatically populate your second sheet each time there's a date change. If this is the only thing you plan to automate at this time, Zapier is the best option. Azuqua might be overkill. 

• Hi Chris,

Not sure I understand the suggestion exactly.  Are you thinking that we can create a report or second sheet when there is a change to one of the rows due date?

Basically, the sheet today is like a task sheet with a column for a Due Date.  The Due date can change over time and we would love to be able to do some reporting on tne changes to the due date (based on other columns) like "Assigned to", delay length (calculated if possible from original due date to new), etc.