Health Ball Color Base on Start Date, End Date, and % Complete

Options

Hello,

I am relatively new to Smartsheets. I am trying to write the following formula but continue to hit an "UNPARSEABLE" Error. I am sure I am missing something but cannot find the issue. I would appreciate assistance.

This is the core rule I am trying to draft.

Here is my formula attempt:

IF([% Complete]@row = 1, "Blue", IF([End Date]@row < TODAY(), "Red", IF([Start Date]@row < TODAY(), "Green", IF([End Date]@row > TODAY(-7) AND [% Complete] < .75, “Yellow”, IF([START Date]@row < TODAY () AND [% Complete] = 0, “Yellow”)))))

Thank you for your help.

Best Answer

Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Options

Hi @Tanjha VanHoosier

You were very close!

Here's the full formula for your requirements:

IF([% Complete]@row = 1, "Blue", IF([End Date]@row < TODAY(), "Red", IF([Start Date]@row > TODAY(), "Green", IF(AND([End Date]@row > TODAY(-7), [% Complete]@row < 0.75), “Yellow”, IF(AND([START Date]@row < TODAY(), [% Complete] = 0), “Yellow”)))))

The issue was essentially where the AND was placed - it should go right after the IF and it needs (these) around the two requirements.

You can even tighten up the formula by using OR instead of the final IF:

IF([% Complete]@row = 1, "Blue", IF([End Date]@row < TODAY(), "Red", IF([Start Date]@row > TODAY(), "Green", IF(OR(AND([End Date]@row > TODAY(-7), [% Complete]@row < 0.75), AND([START Date]@row < TODAY(), [% Complete] = 0)), “Yellow”))))

Let me know if this works for you!

Cheers,

Genevieve

• Tanjha VanHoosier
    Options

Thank you for your help in understanding the AND statement. That was very helpful. However, I am still hitting an UNPARSEABLE error when I add the row numbers in the sheet. I also tried typing it all out manually to avoid any copy errors but still am hitting issues. I must still be typing something incorrectly.

AND Statement