When no actual cost is entered, want variance to show 0

I am very new to smart sheets. Trying to figure out a formula that would show my variance as 0 or blank if there is no actual cost entered instead of showing a negative number (the budgeted cost number). To spare any confusion I won't even begin to type the formulas I have written.

Best Answer

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hey @Jessica Zahner

If I understand, if the Actual cost cell is blank, you want the value of your variance column cell to show 0?

If yes, try this

IF([Actual Cost]@cell<>"", <enter your regular formula without last paranthesis>, 0)

Change the column name to match yours. This says, if the Actual Cost is not blank, perform your formula, otherwise = zero.

If you wanted to highlight which variance cells were zero from real numbers and which were zero's based on no data, you could use conditional formatting looking for the blank cell in Actual cost and coloring the Variance cell when Actual cost was blank.

Answers

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hey @Jessica Zahner

If I understand, if the Actual cost cell is blank, you want the value of your variance column cell to show 0?

If yes, try this

IF([Actual Cost]@cell<>"", <enter your regular formula without last paranthesis>, 0)

Change the column name to match yours. This says, if the Actual Cost is not blank, perform your formula, otherwise = zero.

If you wanted to highlight which variance cells were zero from real numbers and which were zero's based on no data, you could use conditional formatting looking for the blank cell in Actual cost and coloring the Variance cell when Actual cost was blank.

• IT WORKED! I appreciate this more than you know. Thank you so much!