Workflow assignment question

Hi, I am new at automating in SmartSheet so forgive the simple question: I created a Workflow which is a reminder email that needs to go out to several people 3 days prior to a Finish date if not 100% completed. The conditions part of this workflow is straightforward, but I am unsure how to connect and activate it.

From what I can see these Workflows are generic, meaning they still need to be associated to a Row or Field somehow. There seems to be no obvious way to do that, so I am confused. How do I take the reminder workflow and connect it to the Finish date in the particular Row I am trying to get people notified on?

If I am mistaken and it's not generic, the same question applies, but how do I know what Row I have associated it with? In the Workflow editor there is nothing to indicate this.

thanks for any assistance on this, its the only baffling part of setting all this up I have so far

Answers

• Heather Duff
    Heather Duff ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Sean,

So, the great thing about automations is that they are generic, but will apply to specific rows based on the triggers and filters you set.

For example, you can set a reminder to be sent 3 days before the finish date (trigger), if the completed box is not checked (filter), and it can send it to the person assigned to that task (action - send reminder to a contact field). It will ONLY send a reminder for a row when it's met all of the criteria, and if you've got a contact column set, then you can set it to ONLY send it to the person to whom that task is assigned.

Hope this helps! Let me know if you have more specific questions. I have found that, especially with automations, I do lots of testing and retesting to make sure I understand how the automations flow.

Best,

Heather

• Sean Richards
    edited 02/19/21

Hi Heather, this part I understand completely. What I don't see anywhere is how I know what an automation workflow is using as the actual trigger.