Determining Workflow trigger criteria

Sean Richards
edited 02/19/21 in Smartsheet Basics

Hi, I asked a question but from the reply I received I think I asked it the wrong way so I am trying again.

I am new at automating in SmartSheet so forgive the simple question: I created a Workflow which is a reminder email that needs to go out to several people 3 days prior to a Finish date if not 100% completed. The conditions part of this workflow is straightforward, but I am unsure how to SEE what I have done.

1. What I don't see anywhere is how I know what the automation workflow is using as the actual trigger. Sure I can set Finish Date, but of what row? Do I need to have that Finish Date cell/field highlighted when I edit the workflow? The whole row? What is the process to ensure the Finish Date I require in Row xx is the trigger?
  2. I know there are many ways to automate things, but in my scenario can I only use the workflow once in this instance, to trigger just the one field in a Row? If I need to do this type of trigger on numerous Finish Dates, do I need to duplicate for each instance?
  3. Finally, but related, I am not seeing anywhere in the Workflow editor what the trigger actually is, so is the only way I am able to track what fields I am using as trigger (or what rows), the titles I am giving it? I would expect a bit more information in the summary of the workflow so I know what I have linked it to, that's all. If I am missing something let me know.

thx

Answers

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hey @Sean Richards

Workflows are automated events that happen when a row meets the conditions that you have set for the automation. If you build an automation and if only one row will ever meet the criterial that you set, then only that one row will be triggered. However, in general, different rows will meet that criteria - which is why you probably built the automation in the first place.

If you haven't seen this already, here is some information: