If/Then Statement to Return a specific date

Options

Hello,

I am new to Smartsheet and though I feel like this should be a simple formula, I am stumped. I am hoping to create an automation that would calculate a due date from a date received based on the value selected from a drop down list.

So if I choose option a from a drop down list (Permit Type), then add 30 days to the date received to return a due date.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Tags:

Best Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

How many different options do you have?

The absolute most straight forward response to your question would be...

=IF([Permit Type]@row = "Residential", [Date Rec.]@row + 30)

This would leave a blank for all other options. To include other options we could build out a nested IF statement which would depend on your exact criteria, and if you have a lot of different outputs from a lot of different options, it may be more efficient to build out a table and use a completely different formula to reference it for how many days to add.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Since it is only 3 options, the nested IF is certainly the way to go. To create a nested IF, we first need to understand the 3 different portions of an IF statement.

=IF(this is true, output this, otherwise that)

Something to keep in mind when nesting IFs... It will work from left to right and stop on the first true value. This means that if it makes it to the send IF, then the first must be false. If it makes it to the third IF, then the first two must be false. So on and so forth.

So let's use this logic and spell it out in "plain English" first: