API Questions

Hello, I'm new to Smartsheet but an old hand at data analytics. We have a group using Smartsheet to manage their project data, and they have asked to have their data merged with other in-house databases to provide consistent reporting. We are looking at using the API to set up an automated process to read their sheets and store the data in-house, and have been trying to decipher their documentation. We've got a couple of sticking points and wonder if anyone here might know how these work off the top of their heads:

1 - As I said, we want to set up an automated process where an in-house job kicks off a series of API calls to read the sheets and write the outputs to local files. What we understand is an API key needs to be generated to do this, but we're finding notes that also say those API keys have to be refreshed every few days? Is there any way we can accomplish the connectivity we're seeking without that hassle? Is the OAuth authentication I've seen a possible solution?

2 - We would like this automated process to be managed through a servicing account (i.e. an internal account that is not tied to a specific user as part of their daily work). We have such an account created and have a Smartsheet license assigned to it, but we are having trouble with getting through the process of validating it for use; Smartsheet wants us to respond to an e-mail being sent to the account, but for security reasons this type of account is not assigned a mailbox for sending or receiving messages. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Answers

• Krissia B.
    Krissia B. Moderator

Hello @mjbernier

I see that you have submitted a case ticket with Smartsheet Support regarding this topic. At this time, this is the better route to take for your specific question!

Kind regards~

Krissia