Formula to pull all values of a column in Sheet A to Sheet B

Options

Hello,

I have a master Smartsheet (sheet A) that contains a list of projects identified by NAME column and it also contains many other columns. Every project in the list will have a unique name.

I would like to use a column formula in Sheet B to pull all unique records of names from Sheet A in to Sheet B. My main goal is to automatically pull all new unique records from Sheet A in to Sheet B. In Sheet A and B, the column types are 'Text/Number'.

I have previously done something similar and it worked (only difference seems to be it was a Contact List in prior successful example), but I am hitting a roadblock now. I had used a helper column to log a Row ID.

=IFERROR(INDEX(DISTINCT({SheetA Project Name}), [Row ID]@row), "Add More Numbers")

Any suggestions?

Tags:

Best Answer

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Chris Walker

I hope you're well and safe!

You could use INDEX/MATCH and connect the sheets by using the Autonumber column in one sheet and adding the number manually to the other sheet, and that would always keep them "synced".

Make sense?

Would that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic weekend!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

What is the reason for pulling this column into a separate sheet?

• Chris Walker
    Options

Hi Paul,