Lots of Parent/Child Relationships

Hi there,

I'd really appreciate any insight you guys might have. I began setting up some parent child relationships and felt as though I nearly instantly hit a wall.

We're using Smartsheet for inventory management. Let's pretend we manufacture cars and I'm purchasing every individual item needed to assemble the car. Please forgive me as I'm not a car expert but I'll try to make this work :)

The first parents that I'd like would be for the parts that go into making the: Engine, Transmission, Frame, Car Exterior, and Car Interior

The next parent level contain items within those parents. For example the Car Interior section might have seats, dashboard items, radio components, flooring components, ceiling components, or things like that.

The next parent level would have the vendors that I need to purchase these items from.

The next parent level would be the Purchase Orders that I submit to each vendor for the individual items.

This is just already super messy in my head. There are tens of dozens of Vendors. I think I'd need to have a parent line for each individual one. That's not convenient and I think it'll look messy.

I know I can just use columns then filters for these things, and I already do. But we need to implement some parent child relationships for viewing purposes and for purposes such as attaching files and comments to a PO as opposed to each of the 30 rows that each PO encompasses.

I've posted before that I think that Smartsheets is just in general ill suited for inventory management on this scale and here's just one more roadblock that seems to reinforce those feelings. Is there more information I can provide to help you guys prove me wrong? I want to be wrong and want to just make this work.

Thank you in advance! Any insight is much appreciated.

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭