Linking Project checklist data selectively to reports?

Hi,

I'm new to SmartSheet, but learning the ropes little by little. I have a Project checklist sheet, with all kinds of project related data you can imagine. The challenge is that I need to find a way to share, or more specifically, link parts of the sheet data to 2 other sheets (or reports?): one for my superior and one for the customer. As you already guessed, some information is public and some not, so I need to be able to cherry pick the sheet data for each of the two documents. It would be the easiest way to just share the same checklist to customer with restricted visibility, but unfortunately it's not possible to restrict the access on a cell level other than hiding (and then locking) a column.

I've been reading all kinds of tutorials regarding reports/linking sheets etc, but what would be the best/robust way to achieve something like I just described?

Also, how could I make the replication of the aforementioned documents as easy as possible when the next project starts? Is it possible to make a project check list template with (partially) locked content and with some kind of automation in Smartsheet to create a (custom template based) sheet/report for the superior and customer out of it?

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @OlliR

I hope you're well and safe!

What kind of document is it?

I'm asking because sometimes I recreate client's documents in Smartsheet so they can be connected and tied together.

Would that work?

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic weekend!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD