Properly Utilizing Dependencies, Baselines, & Critical Path with Rolling Wave Planning

TannerS
TannerS ✭✭
edited 06/22/22 in Smartsheet Basics

Greetings,

I'm an IT project manager and we use the Rolling Wave Planning Technique on our projects. In short, our scope (list of tasks) is continuously evolving as subject matter experts tell us what is and is not needed. We cannot layout a full project plan as we don't know all the deliverables, work packages and tasks. Furthermore, it is difficult to estimate dates until the those things are discovered.

That being said, how can I properly use dependencies, baselines, and the Critical Path Method? These are essential to planning, but as far as I can tell- one cannot get baselines unless they know all their tasks and provide an estimated duration? Furthermore, the Gantt Chart and CPM seem incorrect even with dependencies labeled.

Maybe it's just me, but I have not found any great videos or resources that clearly explain how correctly utilize these tools (Youtube, Google, Smartsheet Training, LinkedIn Learning, etc.)

Answers

• Julio S.
    Julio S. Moderator

Hi @TannerS ,

As you point out, Baselines require to know all tasks planned Start and Finish dates from the beginning as these will be pinpointed to perform the respective variance calculations comparing the planned start and finish with the current ones.