How to Auto Delete Duplicate Entries based on a User ID and Date?

Options

Hello there,

I am new to Smartsheet and trying to figure out how to build a formula to delete duplicate entries based on the "E number" and the "Content for the Week of".

This sheet will be tracking form submissions and I want to delete any duplicate submissions by an individual for a given week.

The screenshot attached has some sample data to test the sheet before I make it live to start collecting data. Ultimately the data set will be too large to manually check for duplications.

Thank you!

Tags:

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Allison Minor

The way I do this in my sheet is to have a helper flag column, just like you have! Then I use a formula to count how many rows that match my conditions appear in the current sheet. If there are more than 1 that match, I flag those rows. This way, each duplicate is flagged and I can manually delete one of the two.

For example:

=IF(COUNTIFS([Content for the Week of]:[Content for the Week of], [Content for the Week of]@row, [E Number]:[E Number], [E Number]@row) > 1, 1, 0)

You can then also set up Conditional Formatting so those rows are highlighted in a certain colour to make them stand out.

Let me know if that helps!

Cheers,

Genevieve

Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Allison Minor

The way I do this in my sheet is to have a helper flag column, just like you have! Then I use a formula to count how many rows that match my conditions appear in the current sheet. If there are more than 1 that match, I flag those rows. This way, each duplicate is flagged and I can manually delete one of the two.

For example:

=IF(COUNTIFS([Content for the Week of]:[Content for the Week of], [Content for the Week of]@row, [E Number]:[E Number], [E Number]@row) > 1, 1, 0)