Creating sub-sheet from master sheet

Options

Hello everyone,

I have been breaking my head over this and am probably doing something spectacularly stupid or missing something remarkably obvious.

I have a master sheet. I need to get data from one column linked into another sheet based on certain criteria. I tried index and match, which worked well for the first cell in the subsheet, but then realized I couldn't just copy the formula down the column on the new sheet (there are ~2800 rows on the master) and it might not update if we added new rows to the master.

I love reports, but cannot use them in this instance because I will have to add additional data (that we don't want in the master) and do all sorts of calculations in the subsheet.

In short, if [Column A, cell 1 Master] is in a row where [Column C, cell 1 Master] is equal to [value], then put the value from [Column A, cell 1 Master] into [Column X Subsheet]. I thought about automation, but from what I'm reading it seems I would have to copy a whole row to the other sheet, not just a cell.

Help please? Thanks tons!

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

I would suggest a text/number column (called "Number" in this example) where you manually enter as many numbers as you think you will need plus more as a bit of a buffer. If you think the maximum number of rows to pull is 300, then my suggestion would be 3500 or whatever you feel comfortable with (there is a way to set up a check column with an automation to alert you if you are running close to the end of your manually entered numbers and need to add more).

From there you would use something along the lines of...

=INDEX(COLLECT({Source Sheet Column A}, {Source Sheet Column C}, "[value]"), Number@row)

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @KMH Spinner

I hope you're well and safe!