Use Javascript in Bridge to efficiently import data from an API

Brian_Richardson
Brian_Richardson Overachievers
edited 03/25/24 in Best Practice

Hi all - I'm excited to share a custom Javascript solution with my fellow Bridge users. I am not a Jscript coder - all credit for this goes to the awesome @Nathan Lloyd at Smartsheet - Large Enterprise Technical Sales Engineer, who gave me the basis for this script at ENGAGE 2022. Thank you Nathan!

In this thread I'll explain how you can leverage this script for any API. My example is with the Resource Management API, but it will work (with tweaks) for just about anything.

THE PROBLEM

I needed to load the user list from Resource Management into a Smartsheet sheet, in an automated way via the RM API.

Issue 1) It took forever. I had a parent-child workflow setup, where the parent got the users from the RM API, and then a child workflow pushed each user object into a Sheet. It took about 1.5 hours to go through 1000 users.

Issue 2) Custom fields. Custom fields via the RM API come back as an array of custom field objects, with each object having a field name and a value. That meant I couldn't just reference the "Cost Center" custom field, I had to "find" the Cost Center object and get it's value. I did that by extracting a field from the array and then sorting it, for every user, which is maybe why things took so long.

Issue 3) Tags. I needed to group a bunch of tags together, each tag was a separate object with a id and value. I could have used the Bridge "Extract Field" to get this tag list, but this Jscript is faster.

THE SOLUTION

With the Custom Jscript module, I'm able to load 1000 users in under 1 minute into Smartsheet! It used to take 1.5 hours. And I can find any custom field I want, even if I add more later.@Nathan Lloyd

You can implement this solution for any API, not just Resource Management. I'll explain below how to setup the workflows and the script to accomodate any need.

SETUP