Highlighting Duplicates

2»

Answers

• Hi,

This is very useful.

I am trying to adapt this formula to my entries which are names

=IF(COUNTIFS([name]:[name], [name]@row) > 1, "Red")

Every time a new name is added it will flag it as a red dot if the name is already in the list. However, sometimes the names contain portions of other names, eg QWERT and QWE (these are unique). How do I ensure that QWE is not flagged up as duplication?

I am new to SmartSheet and this may be a very basic question.

Many thanks,

Alex

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

@Alex Ceroni QWE should not be flagged because of a QWERT entry based on your formula provided as the formula should be looking for an exact match.

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

• Ok so I have used:

=IF(COUNTIF(Phone MAC Address: Phone MAC Address, Cell1) > 1, 1)

And 

=IF(COUNTIFS(Phone MAC Address:Phone MAC Address, Phone MAC Address@row) >1, 1)

Both are coming up unparseable. Can anyone help in what I should fix to have it work?

• Hi @lawrencena@gru.com

It looks like you may not be referencing the column names in [these], which could be causing the error. To populate a column name in a formula, try clicking on a cell in that column instead of typing it in.

Your formula should look something more like this:

=IF(COUNTIFS([Phone MAC Address]:[Phone MAC Address], [Phone MAC Address]@row) >1, 1)

This Help Article has more information on referencing columns in formulas: Create a Cell or Column Reference in a Formula

Cheers!

Genevieve

Join us at Smartsheet ENGAGE 2024 🎉
    October 8 - 10, Seattle, WA | Register now

• Hello,

I am trying to find duplicates using this formula:

=IF(COUNTIFS([Restaurant #]:[Restaurant #], =[Restaurant #]@row) > 1, 1)