Link cell values from a Master sheet to another sheet

Options
Ipshita
Ipshita ✭✭✭✭✭✭

I have a master data sheet that has numerous columns and another sheet that needs to be linked to certain cell values of the master sheet. I have hidden the excess columns in the master file that I don't need to look at while I am cell linking the values in the target sheet and saved it in this format. However, every time I click on 'link cell from another sheet' and choose the master file, it still shows me all the hidden columns and I have to scroll forever to find the right (name) and (date) and (value) columns I need to link with. Is there a way that I can save this extra time in trying to locate the cell value I need to link with in my target file from a robust file and not having to look at the extra columns?

Ipshita Mukherjee

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @Ipshita

I hope you're well and safe!

You could initiate the linking from the Master sheet instead.

Did that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe, and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up, Awesome, or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Ipshita
    Ipshita ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hello @Andrée Starå ,

Thank you for the response but no, unfortunately it doesn't help. I can't link out the cell value I need from the master sheet to the target sheet because -

1) it's not giving me an option to "link out"