How Can I update certain cells in a another sheet when a row is added to original submission sheet?

Options

Hi, I'm new to Smartsheet

I have two sheets.

The first sheet holds information submitted via a form

The second sheet holds similar information but its data is used for a dashboard (

1. Usually, an employee will submit a form and a new row will be added to the submission sheet (first sheet).
  2. I will take certain data points from the new row in the submission sheet and manually update certain cells in the (Second Sheet).

I want to automate this manual update process. How can have the cells in the second sheet updated once a new row is add the first sheet.

Tags:

Best Answer

• Debbie Sawyer
    Debbie Sawyer ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Mohamed.muse

Hi Mohamed - I hope you don't mind, but for the benefit of this community post thread, I thought I'd just summarise what we did on our zoom call so that people searching in the future can see the answer.

You then explained that Sheet 1 was an update sheet where people enter the lastest information about each grant. The Grant Name is Unique to the Grant and can be used as a reference point, but as sheet 1 is an update sheet, each grant is mentioned multiple times. You wanted sheet 2 to automatically pick up the latest entry per Grant.

We set up 2 helper columns in sheet1, The first called ONE with =1 as the column formula. The second called RowNum with =SUM(One$1:One@row) as the function. This is dragged to all used rows in the sheet to create a RowNumber which can be referenced in a formula.

We then went to Sheet 2 and used an Index formula to pick up the latest Grant Value from Sheet 1.

=INDEX({sheet1's Grant Value column},MAX(COLLECT({Sheet 1's RowNum, {Sheet 1's Grant Name},Grant Name on Sheet 2 current Row)

This did what you wanted.

However, this will only work IF Sheet 1 is sorted in Create Date order with the latest entry being added to the bottom of the sheet.

This worked for you.