Adding a Start - finish dependency does not move out the timeline of predecessor

HI all,

I am new to smartsheets and is setting up my first project plan.

I have task A and Task B

Task B is depending on Task a finishing

so I have added a finish start depency of task A to task B - Great.

but now I realize I forgot Task C which must start after task A finishes but End before task B starts.

so I added a finish start dependency to task A

and a start finish depencency to task B

Expecting smartsheets moving task B into the future after task C finishes.

But no - it just adds some odd arrows between task B and C not updating the timeline in my Gant chat.

is this a bug?

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Try making task C a dependent of Task A and then Task B a dependent of Task C.

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

• rasmus
    rasmus ✭✭

hi Paul - that is really a work around rather than a fix.

think about if I have the same issue - but 10 tasks, and now I need to get a task in between.

then I have to update 9 tasks for the Gantt to be correct. I mean I can do that - but it seems like the function is not doing what it is claiming it should do!

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

It really isn't a work around though. Think about it... If you make Task C a dependent of Task B, then Task B should not adjust. If you want Task B to be dependent on Task C, then you need to set it up that way.

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

10xViz.com

• rasmus
    rasmus ✭✭

ok - I guess.

What you are saying is the order of which you enter the tasks matter, which I think is silly!