Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Predecessors and Formula's Error when I delete rows

I have a master sheet that has tasks for all types of projects and depending on the customer we sign, I will go through and delete the rows I no longer need. The issue is that my RYG (error: #BLOCKED) and Predecessors (error: #REF) error when I do this which means I then need to go back and correct them manually

Is there any way around this?

I find that setting up the initial plan / sheet is extremely fiddly and I need this to be more of a cookie-cutter style with minimal effort if possible

Comments

• Hi Patrick,

It sounds like you're deleting rows that your formulas and other rows in your predecessors reference (predecessors also use a formula on the backend), which breaks the formulas.

Have you tried applying conditional formatting to them or filtering them out instead?

More on conditional formatting.

Details on filters.

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Patrick,

Are you doing something like this?

Master Project Schedule - built for contingencies, where each "?" is a decision point and the project can change depending on decisions?

Something like:

Start

Decision Pt 1 (A or B)

If A - project tasks on branch A (6 weeks)

If B - project tasks on branch B (4 weeks, more resources)

Both A and B end at 

Decision Pt 2 (C or D)

etc...?

I have successfully built a project that had 6 possible paths into a single sheet.

At each decision point, the PM choose the decision, made one small change to a Predecessor and the non-chosen path was taken out of the system (it was still there, just no longer impacting the schedule dates or activities or notifications)