Which formula do I need "Has" or "Countifs"

Options

I'm having trouble knowing what type of formula to use in my dashboard, and how to get the results that I need. To preface - I am very new to Smartsheet, and the use of formulas so pretty much "learning as I go". What I have here is a result of combined YouTube videos and LinkedIn learning Smartsheet 101 videos. 

Let me explain what I have/trying to achieve and then hopefully someone could offer guidance. I'll try to keep it brief...

I've created a "Master Smartsheet" where I capture the data I want to calculate. This includes (amongst a lot of other data) one column that tracks "Central KPIs" (column type is "Dropdown list", with "multiple values" enabled), and another that captures which dept. the project relates to called "Area of focus" (Drop down list, single values only). 

Then I've created a separate Smartsheet for the "calculations" - this is the data I will draw into the Dashboard, once the formulas are correct. So, what I'd like to show is: 

How many times the "value" (the KPI) appears in the "Central KPI" column, based also on which department they're in.

So, for example, how many times does "KPI-1" show in the "Central KPI" column, and when the "Area of focus" = e.g. Corporate Development (or whatever that would be for other dept). I have this formula that works well - across sheets - and counts what I need to see. Which is: 

=COUNTIFS({2023/24 Strategic measurement/Tracking LIT KPI}, [KPI by area]@row, {2023/24 Strategic measurement/Tracking LIT Range 1}, "Corporate Development")

Which, for my understanding - basically says "Count if" the Master sheet (2023/24 Strategic measurement/tracking etc.) has any of the values (the list of KPIs) from "KPI by area" column, and where the department is "Corporate Development".