Unable to add user to licensed version

Rakesh Boddu
Rakesh Boddu ✭✭
edited 12/22/23 in Resource Management

Hi,

We have purchased a business plan and [email protected] is the owner of license version, me my self [email protected] currently using free trial version and 14days left and Ashit the owner is unable to add us from User Management screen it shows error please remove account from trial or something. Please let me know what is the process to get added to licence version.

Answers

  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

    Hi @Rakesh Boddu

    It sounds like you may have started a multi-user trial with someone else. If this is the case, that's no problem! If the licensed owner of the Business plan wants to add you, they can invite the System Admin for your trial (which I assume is your account). This will then invite both of you to the new plan:

    The Business plan owner will just need to click "Continue" to invite them from their User Management tab.

    If this is not the message that your Business plan owner sees, can you post a screen capture of their message (but block out sensitive data such as emails).

    Thanks,

    Genevieve

  • @Genevieve P. We have purchased the business plan and we are trying to add user or give access to sheet but it shows some message as attached and when we send invite licensed it tells us to purchase. We are unable to access the sheet which is shared to us. Please find attached screenshot. As per plan we can give unlimited edit access to users.


  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

    Hi @Rakesh Boddu

    It sounds like perhaps the Business plan already has the maximum licenses assigned for the plan, is that possible?

    The owner of the account can check this by clicking on their account icon then going to Plan & Billing info. From this window you'll be able to see if all licenses have been assigned:


    Even if there are no licenses available, you can still be shared to a sheet and edit content while you're on a different plan (since the account is a Business plan).

    In this instance, the owner or another shared user on the sheet will need to go to the sheet directly to share you to it, instead of using the Admin center. Does that make sense?

    Cheers,

    Genevieve

  • @Genevieve P. We did the same our licenced user shared the newly created project sheet with me and when i try to access sheet it says to purchase licensed. Please see screenshot attached earlier my official email was registered for free plan and it is expired now.


  • Hi @Genevieve P.

    Please find attached screenshots this is the same message or popup we receive even if we add user as system admin or wherever we add to grant access.

    Thanks,

    Rakesh Boddu | Project Manager

  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    edited 01/08/24

    Hi @Rakesh Boddu

    When you see this screen you do not have to upgrade. Click "Continue with Free Plan" to move forward and see the sheet you're being shared to:


    Staying on a separate Free Plan will enable you to own 2 sheets and maintain other Smartsheet functionality. You can be shared to sheets on your other team member's plan and collaborate without needing a license. 🙂 In this instance, you would not be added as a "member" of that plan but keep a separate account. Here's more information: Free plan details

    Since on your Free Plan you may own sheets, to be added to another plan you'll need to be granted a License so you can keep those sheets as owned by you. The message your System Admin is getting identifies that all the licenses have been granted, so they can either remove a license from someone else to invite you in, or you can cancel your free plan (to make your current sheets read-only and deleted after 30 days) to become a free user of their Business plan. Free "members" or "users" that are added to a plan cannot own items.

    Does that make sense?

    Cheers,

    Genevieve