First Time User - Setup Question

I'm in the process of trying to migrate from Microsoft Project to Smartsheet.

Our layout in Project is simple, but I am still confused on whether to just use a sheet or if workspaces will be advantageous?

Currently I have one sheet in Project, with (5) site superintendents listed as a project heading with dependencies under them. Those dependencies are their current projects.

I started Smartsheets using the "Simple Project Plan" template. That template essentially has the same structure I'm using for Project but under a workspace instead of a sheet.

I need to add that we are a small company, and all the users view the same schedule. The only time I would need to share part of a schedule with a specific group is when sharing with a client or someone outside the organization.

Opinions on what starting setup to use?

Answers

• Hi @CCallahan - I've been using Smartsheet for seven years now as part of an IT PMO in a healthcare system. Here are some thoughts that may help you as you're figuring out how to do your initial set up. 

1. Workspaces are useful for sharing and organizing multiple sheets (as well as reports and dashboards). 
    2. In my PMO, we create a new workspace for each enterprise project, and within that workspace, we have a standard set of sheets for our toolset (project schedule, RAID log, contacts list, etc.). 
    3. If your five superintendents are highly collaborative, it may be advantageous to manage their tasks within a single sheet. But this is not required. 
    4. The pivot point for me would be whether the tasks between supers have predecessors relationships.
    5. If the answer is "no", then I would probably set up separate sheets per super and then pull them into a single view using one or more reports catering to the audience's needs. (This is arguably the cleanest approach, assuming your supers don't need to regularly see what their counterparts are managing.)