Template for IT Services

Duraid
Duraid
edited 07/07/24 in Smartsheet Basics

As an IT manager, I'm responsible for various simultaneous and sometimes unrelated areas, including:

• Maintenance of existing apps
  • New development projects
  • Recruitment
  • Operations
  • Company websites
  • Procurement
  • Billing

I'm looking for a template to help me manage these areas efficiently without overwhelming me with details. For instance, I prefer to manage dates and durations in sprints rather than actual dates to better manage visibility across projects.

I have started using the Project Management Office template, but I'm wondering if there is a better choice.

Tags:

Answers

• Brian_Richardson
    Brian_Richardson Overachievers Alumni

There's a ton of templates to browse, but if you're not finding something that fits well then you may want to take a template that's reasonably close, like PM office, and tweak it to your needs.

One thing you could do is setup a sheet for each of those areas with the data that you're interested in tracking and include a consistent Sprint column with the same choices in all sheets. Then, setup a report that looks at all the sheets and has the columns that you want. You can edit data inside reports and the data is automatically synced to the sheets…and Card View / Gantt View are available in reports for easier management.

BRIAN RICHARDSON | PMO TOOLS AND RESOURCES | HE|HIM

SEATTLE WA, USA

IRON MOUNTAIN

• Thank you Brian. having a ton of templates is part of the problem. It's makes it really hard to find what you want without expert advise. Unfortunately I didn't find any template that managed sprints correctly. The agile temple puts sprints as phases which makes it hard for moving tasks across sprints and calculating sprint velocity. Sprints are time indicator and should be managed like start/end dates. It seems that Smartsheet is primarily a waterfall /Gantt tool.

• Brian_Richardson
    edited 07/09/24