Conditional Formatting and Checkboxes

Is there a way to set conditional formatting on a checkbox column so that if text is entered in one column, the checkbox in another column is automatically checked?

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

This question was just asked in the forums. 

You can't adjust checkbox with conditional formatting, you have to use conditional formulas. Please see the notes for ideas of what needs to happen in below's post.

https://community.smartsheet.com/discussion/automatic-checkbox 

• Thank you for connecting me with this previous post. My situation is a bit different though- I am trying to get the checkbox to automatically "check" when a certain cell is no longer blank. In the post you provided, the user was using the word "done" as the instigator of the checkbox process. Could you tell me how to adapt the formula to my specific needs? I am a smartsheet newbie.

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

I see, the basis is the same. Try this formula in the checkbox column. =IF([Column Name]255 = "", 0, 1)

Replace Column name with the name of your column and replace 255 with the row you are actually wanting to check against. 

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

That formula should go in your checkbox column. As long as the field you are referencing is blank the checkbox will be blank. If anything gets entered the checkbox will check off. 

• Robert S.
    Robert S. Employee

Hello,

Thanks for the question. Mike is correct on this. You can also write the formula like this:

=IF(ISBLANK([Column Name]255), 0, 1)

Or

=IF(NOT(ISBLANK([Column Name]255)), 1, 0)

I only add this to show that formulas can be written many different ways. To learn more on the basics of creating formulas in Smartsheet, check out our article here (https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2476171). To learn more about all of the functions we offer, take a look at the functions list here (https://help.smartsheet.com/functions).