Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Date based on another date

Options
Clive Walkden
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

Hi All, I am new to this and was wondering if anyonecan  help me with a date formula?

I have a column 'Urgency' that uses dropdown choice - Critical, Urgent, High etc. Each choice has a set amount of time to be completed... Critical = 1 day, Urgent = 2 days etc.

I have a 'Due Date' column that I would like to be populated automatically based on the 'Urgency' choice calculated from the System auto 'Created Date' column.

ie. System Created Date = 04/08/15

Urgency Choice  = Urgent (2days)

Due Date( autofilled)  = 06/08/15

Hope this makes sense and thanks for your help in anticipation.

Tags:

Comments

• Svendahle
    Svendahle
    edited 08/04/15
    Options

The best way I know of doing this would be to utilize an If/Then statement.

Hints for this can be found here:  http://help.smartsheet.com/customer/portal/articles/775363-using-formulas

Basically, you are keying one field off the value of another and taking action against the field your working with.

In your example above, you have a start date, an "urgency" indicator and a due date. To make the due date add 2 days, use this formula:

=IF([URGENCY]64 = "Urgent", [START DATE]64 + 2, IF([URGENCY]64 = "Critical", [START DATE]64 + 1, [START DATE]64+10))

In this, URGENCY is your indicator, we are in the 64th row, START DATE is the request date.  To that, SmartSheet is adding the requested number of days.

URGENT = 2

CRITICAL = 1

NULL = 10 (meaning, not urgent, you have 10 days to complete the task).

Hope this helps.

• Jeff K.
    Options