Setting Alerts on multiple fields with dates to remind me to re-run the check in either 1 year, 3 ye

Options
Maja Roberts
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

I have an HR onboarding master checklist that shows the dates certain forms were signed and the dates certain background checks were conduced.  I need to set alerts to let me know when a check (which will have a date in the field) needs to be re-run.  In some cases, the time frame is annually, but in other cases its every 3 or 5 years.  How do I set up alerts like these on a lot of fields?

Maja

Comments

• Schiff A.
    Schiff A. Employee
    Options

Hello,

The Reminders function can send emails up to 14 days before or after a date. However, using additional date columns you can generate the reminder date needed and then set up a reminder based on the reminder date.

Here's how to do it:

1. Create a date column called "Reminder Date"

2. Enter  the formula =DATE(YEAR([Original Date]@row) + #, MONTH([Original Date]@row), DAY([Original Date]@row))

Replace "#" with the number of years beyond the original date you need a reminder for.

This formula looks at the original date and reconstructs it with an updated year value.

3. Set up a reminder to trigger on the new date you generated.

Thanks!

Schiff

Smartsheet Support

• Maja Roberts
    Options

Is there a simpler way to do this?  I've got 12 columns and 100+ rows of dates.  If I understand your response correctly, I'll need to set up a new date field with this formula for every field (that's at least 1,200 fields).  

Maja

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Maja,

Can you upload a screenshot or share the sheet? It would make it easier to understand your use case and provide a solution.

Have you looked at setting it up as a project plan with dependencies?

Would that work for you?

I hope this helps you!

Best,

Andrée Starå - Workflow Consultant / Get Done

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER