Alerts/Notifications for Deleted Users

michelebmicheleb ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Using Smartsheet
03/06/18 Edited 12/09/19

When a user is deleted, how can I also remove that user globally from any configured Alerts/Actions? What currently happens is an Invalid Recipient email gets sent to the sheet owner, and they have to manually remove the user from Alerts/Actions. I want to remove a user globally from any Alerts/Actions their user account has set up. Thank you!

Comments

  • Hello micheleb,

    There currently isn't a way to remove them globally from all alerts & actions, they need to be removed on a sheet-by-sheet basis.

    When you have a moment, please submit an Enhancement Request using the form under Quick links on the right of the community site and let our Product team know that you'd like to have this feature added to Smartsheet.

  • Brad JonesBrad Jones ✭✭✭✭✭

    +1 for this.  Sheet by sheet?  Ouch!

  • This is a must have for us especially with being able to set less restrictive alerts to other email addresses.

  • ker9ker9 ✭✭✭✭✭

    Submitted an enhancement request - need this!  Enterprise system, we really shouldn't be expected to delete each one individually.

  • Andrée StaråAndrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭

    Hi everyone,

    Please submit an Enhancement Request when you have a moment to have your vote added

    A New Way to Submit Your Feature Requests

    To make your Enhancement / Feature Request count, send in the form above because there isn’t a guarantee, it will be registered otherwise.

    Original Post: https://community.smartsheet.com/announcement/new-way-submit-your-feature-requests

    Have a fantastic weekend!

    Best,

    Andrée Starå

    Workflow Consultant @ Get Done Consulting

    SMARTSHEET PARTNER & CONSULTANT / EXPERT

    Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

    W: www.workbold.com | E: [email protected] | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

    Feel free to contact me about help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or something else entirely.

  • Paul Johnson1Paul Johnson1 ✭✭✭✭✭

    I have sent in this enhancement request, noting that this issue has been requested since 2018 can we please see some traction in improving this process. It is causing quite a bit of email noise in our organisation and we do not need to be notified that a deleted user will NOT be auto notified!!!!!! Their notification should be removed as part of their user deletion

  • EllaElla ✭✭

    Hello,

    is there any development on this request? We need to remove a Smartsheet Admin from tons of notifications and going through each sheet will be quite painful.

    Could anyone share what happens with the Alerts a user has set up if we delete this user from our account? Do the notifications break?

    Thanks

  • Hi @Ella

    This will depend on how the alerts are set up and what the workflow permissions are for that sheet. If the permissions are set to Limited or Restricted, then when you remove this user from your plan then they will no longer receive these alerts. However, if the workflow permissions are set to Unrestricted and the user is still specified in the Action Block, then they will still receive the email. See: Control Who Is Notified About Alerts and Requests

    You could always have the SysAdmin update the email address associated with that Smartsheet account to ensure that the messages are forwarded to a different email, if that helps! See: Admin Center: Add, Edit, and Delete Individual Users with User Management

    Cheers,

    Genevieve

Sign In or Register to comment.