How do I create a pie chart showing the % of tasks in each stage?

Margaret Griffin
Margaret Griffin ✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

I've read through all the instructions on https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2476691-compare-live-data-with-a-chart#faq, and I'm still unable to create a chart like the one shown in the example. It says that the chart widget only supports charting for number values, but the example shows percentages based on categories (text, not numbers). I just want to create a pie chart showing the percentage of tasks in each of our five stages. I'm on the Business Plan and I'm an Admin for the Dashboard. What am I missing?!

6-5-2018 11-45-03 AM.png

Comments

• Seems as though uou should be able to right click on the chart and tell it to show data labels

• Margaret Griffin
    Margaret Griffin ✭✭✭✭

The widget won't let me create the chart to begin with. When I select the data, I get the following error message: "Invalid Data. To create a chart you must use numeric data."

• I'm also having this problem if anyone has a solution it would be much appreciated!

• Julia B
    Julia B ✭✭
    edited 08/29/18

Hi mgriffin - I definitely have felt your pain on this. I also struggled to find proper documentation to create these type of pie charts, but eventually figured it out!

Short-version: The dashboard's chart component cannot condense/analyze your text (or dropdown) source data. You must do this yourself in a separate sheet, using formulas. Then set your condensed/analyzed data set as the chart's source... and voila!

Long Version

(Screenshots / examples attached)

A. Source Sheet : You have a source sheet, with rows of data. One column is type Dropdown list and "Restrict to dropdown values only" = True. In my example, this is the Status column.

B. Summary Sheet: Create a new grid sheet. In the first column, put all the possible dropdown values (note: must be exact spelling!). In the next column, write a COUNTIF formula where: