Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Can a SUMIF Formula be used to pull info from another sheet?

Options
Kingsley Bowder
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

I have an order manifest that i would like to use a formula to bring info from to another sheet that is a running stock sheet. The formula will look at the order manifest and serch a part number and return the quantity that is on order to my running stock sheet. is this possible?

Comments

• Felipe Acha
    edited 10/27/15
    Options

I have been asking for this feature since 2010 when I used smartsheet for first time. I called it "conditional cell linking operation". It would put smartsheet closer to excel abilities.

• Travis
    Travis Employee
    Options

Hi Kingsley - it sounds like you are looking for a VLOOKUP functionality which doesn’t exist but is on our enhancement request list and I'll add your vote for you. As a workaround, you could build the formulas on your stock sheet, then cell link the result to your manifest sheet. 

• Kingsley Bowder
    edited 10/28/15
    Options

Yes thanks Travis, that was my plan B, i think i'll go that way then hopefully when you get it added we will be able to use it...

• darklydrawl
    Options

Hi Travis,

Yes, adding VLookup functionality would be a priority I would think. It would add a lot of value to your Smartsheet app.   I would also like to be able to populate any 'dropdown' lists from a master list (as you would using a named range in Excel).  That way any changes to the master list will be reflected in all the dropdown options as well.  Right now there is no data integrity ability at all as far as I can tell.

Both of these enhancements would make your product more useful and productive.

• C Bauer