Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Best Practices in a large project

Lainie Franklin
Lainie Franklin ✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

I am new to Smart Sheet (and loving it!) I am working with our annual meeting planning which includes everything from location search, contract signing, registration, etc. etc. 

I can't decide whether this is all one sheet or whether it should be divided into several sections with subtasks. I have played with a bit in linking sheets but of course predessor row numbers don't work because they are in different sheets.  I have played with it in terms of setting up different sheets for pre-conference, on-site and post conference (which is what we had in the past in an excel sheet). I see value in all these ways and wonder if someone has experience with this. 

Any advice you can give or is there an article/video I'm missing in terms of helping me to set this up? 

Thanks so much for your input. I look forwarding to collaborating with you!

Lainie Franklin 

Comments

• JamesR
    JamesR ✭✭✭✭✭✭

It really depends on the size of the project i.e. number of rows and columns, the number of editors etc.

Have a read here:

https://www.smartsheet.com/solutions/project-management

• Jef Forward
    Jef Forward ✭✭✭✭

Lainie, 

I agree with JamesR, depends on size of project.  I will tpically make that decision based on how easy it will be for other shared user to navigate the sheet. The Parent Child relationship can also influence this decision.