Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Timeline Display Dates Before Project Start

Im new to SS.  Does anyone know how to change the setting on the gantt timeline display to start the day of the project.  I've played around with the primary and secondary headings but the timeline still prints before the project start date.  Example: My project started on 12/30/15 but the timeline starts on 12/1/15. 

Comments

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Julie,

I believe this behavior is occuring because the system wants to show/print the month of the project, so December 1st is part of the project.

Change that by:

1. going to the Project Settings (from Gantt view, the gear symbol in the upper left of the Gantt) or right-click a column and select "Edit Project Settings..."

2. on left side, select Timeline Display

3. change Primary heading from Months to Weeks. 

The view will now only want to go back the start of the week, not the start of the month.

--- or ---

When printing the sheet, the Print Setup (PDF) dialog has a "Gantt Date Range" where you can specify a Custom Date Range (start on Dec 15th, but you could also only print the first 2 months of the project, for example)

Hope this helps.

Craig

• Thank you, Craig.  I've tried both those options.  I do need the primary heading to be months given the length of my projects.  I need to be able to print the entire gantt as a readable document on a 11x17. I've also tried to change the date setting to the start of my project but it still prints the entire month of the beginning and end of my project?

• Travis
    Travis Employee