Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Looking for input

Options
MaryLouise
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

I am new to SS.  Looking to see if the following scenario is do-able:

We are a small catering company, where interdepartmental communication is not consistently accurate enough for the volume we are capable of producing.

SO, if I have (for ex.) 6 events in one day, 2 at lunch and 4 at dinner time, I need

the prep guys to know how many salads make and how many pounds of potatoes to peel, and how many desserts to get ready, by what time.

I also need the main cook to know what dishes to prepare for what time.

I need purchasing to know what to have on hand, both paper goods and produce, meat, etc.

Ideally, I would like this to be available in calendar format.

Does anyone out there use SS for this application?  Does this look like a scenario that would work? Are there articles that I have not been able to find, that discuss this?

Thank you.

Comments

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

MaryLouise,

Also, go here: http://help.smartsheet.com/

There's a short list on the right of basic tutorials. Most of those are applicable to your workflow.

Craig

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

MaryLouise,

1. I eat out a lot, so personally no - but I'm sure someone does, because...

2. Yes, Smartsheet can really help this sort of collaboration. 

3. If you want to go learn about Smartsheet on your own, the video tutorials are a great place to start. Your workflow touches on a bunch of things just off the top of my head: task lists and reports, alerts and reminders, project scheduling, event planning, using SS on a tablet or smartphone.