Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Calculating age in months

edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

I'm testing smartsheet to see if it can do better than the current excel spreadsheet that is becoming unwieldly with too many users.

Basically I'm replicating the current structure I have in excel which tracks recommendations made, responses to those recommendations, and implementation dates. I need to track when implementation of a recommendation is overdue, in months. This is where my problem lies, I need a good substitute for the following formula:

=IF(A="complete", "", IF(C2="", "??"", IF(C2 > TODAY(), 0, DATEDIF(C2, TODAY(), "M")))))

I am new to smartsheet, but don't think there is an equivalent to the DATEDIF function in Excel. Basically I want the formula, if all other parameters are met, to count the number of months a recommendation is overdue.

Cheers

Tags:

Comments

• John Sauber
    John Sauber ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 06/11/15

It depends on what you mean by "number of months." It looks like the DATEDIF() function in excel, when using the "M" parameter, doesn't care about where in the month the dates fall. So DATEDIF(1/31/2015, 2/1/2015, "M") results in a value of 1, even though there is only 1 day difference (which is about 0.03 months). It also appears that it can't handle negative differences, which doesn't seem very robust or useful to me, but I don't know what context you're working in.

The formula below is obviously for row 1, and column "c" is a date-type column. It works whether today() is before or after the date found in column "c" which would detect both overdue, and tasks completed early: