Conditional Auto Numbers / IDs

Options
Justus
Justus
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

Hi all,

I am pretty new at smartsheet and I am looking for a kind of conditional auto counting. With the on-board-counting function in the column prefs I can't get any further. 

I need different IDs regarding the level of the row. Ideally it should work like the example in the screenshot. Any ideas? I would be very happy for any input, thanks

Justus

Screenshot 2019-07-12 at 12.05.57.png

Comments

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

This can be done with the use of formulas. What's the logic behind building the ID?

• Justus
    Options

On one hand I need unique IDs depending on the level (not every row) on the other hand I must count entries depending on levels. I would be very thankful for short examples ... thx very much

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Are you able to provide more detail? Are you trying to get it to look EXACTLY like your screenshot in the original post with the I id's in one column and the T id's in another column?

Do you want different letters?

Will there be additional levels? If so, how will those be formatted?

Do you eventually want all id's to be in the same column?

Do you want the Task number to start over at 1 when you start a new Issue level?

Does the screenshot show the exact format you want?

• Justus
    Options

No, there is no need that they look exactly like in the screenshot. 

No, no more levels for sure. 

All IDs in one column could be nice, but at the end I need to count the amount of entries in tasks and issues separatly - for a kind of overview/dashboard. (total xy issues and xy tasks) 

Tasks numbers always starting at 1 would be great

Screenshot = no, just a really rough example.

At the end I imagine a nomenclature like in a classical outline:

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 07/12/19
    Options