Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Conditional formatting if task is behind schedule

Options
Roy Janssen
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

Hi guys,

I'm new to Smartsheet so forgive me to ask the question.

How do I setup conditional formatting to a task that is behind schedule? I created 2 lines of conditional formatting already:

1 ) task is 100% complete -> green row

2) end date is in the past and % complete is not 100% -> red row

I'd like to add a third (yellow) formatting for a task which is currently ongoing (so current date is between start and end date), but where the progress is less than where it should be today. Can you guys help me out?

Comments

• Etienne Desbiens
    Options

Hi!

I'd simply put those conditions :

Task% is not 100% complete

Start date is in the past

End date is in the future

You say you want the to see if the progress is less than where it should be today... How do you calculate the progress prevision? Is it simply somthing like :
    =(Today()-StartDate)/(Netdays(StartDate, EndDate))*100
    If so and if you want to integrate that to your formatting, I would add this condition :

Task% is smaller than prevision

Hope it helps!

Étienne Desbiens

• Kennedy Stomps
    Options

Great suggestion, Etienne! This is also outlined in a little more detail in this article from our Help Center: https://www.smartsheet.com/blog/smartsheet-tip-using-conditional-formatting-and-formulas-together. Let me know if you run into any trouble implementing this in your sheets!

• Roy Janssen
    Options

You are amazing. Only thing I worked around was "If so and if you want to integrate that to your formatting, I would add this condition : Task% is smaller than prevision".