automation - mark Main Task 100% complete and Status=Complete when all sub tasks are complete

Hi, i'm a newbie and have a question about Smartsheet.

I was wondering if Smartsheet can do the following: I would like for the parent task to be marked 100% complete and Status=Complete when the sub-tasks are 100% complete and Status=Complete. For example, I have a task call "Deploy Server" and there are 3 sub tasks underneath it ("Task 1,"Task 2",Task 3"). When the last sub-task has been marked 100% and Status=Complete, the Main task called "Deploy Server" is marked 100% and Status=Complete.

Is there a way to do that?

Thanks in advance.

Best Answer

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

How are you entering the %Complete?

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

• Hi Paul, thanks for responding. For the sub-tasks, I enter "100" and I see Smartsheet enters "100%" for the value. Also, I enter "Complete" for Status field.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Ok. So in the % Complete parent row, you would enter something along the lines of

=AVG(CHILDREN())

For the Status column, what are your other statuses? We would have to fully automate these because if you were to manually change the status, it will override and delete any formula that is in the cell.

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

10xViz.com

• Thanks Paul. For Status, I have three values (Not started, In Progress, and Complete)

• Paul, I realize you reference the use of Formulas in Smartsheet. I've used Formulas in Excel but have not reviewed them for Smartsheet (although the Smartsheet and Excel formulas looks similar).