Form from one sheet populates another sheet

Paul Grim
Paul Grim ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 04/17/20 in Smartsheet Basics

Hello SS gurus,

I am relatively new to SS "in the field", although I've watched over 20 hours of videos from the SS Learning Center so I have a good understanding of the mechanics. Here is what I'm trying to do...

We need to track inventory in our supply room: items on hand, items removed, items added, etc. We would prefer that the end user indicate what they are removing from the supply room using a web form, rather than directly updating a sheet. Also, we would like them to indicate items that have been added to the supply room by using a separate web form. This will enable us to very clearly see a record for each time an item is added to or removed from the supply room.

I would like a "master sheet" that lists all the items we stock in our supply room, along with details such as vendor name, item number, minimum quantity needed on hand, etc. This is what would drive the two web forms (one for "removing" items and one for "adding" items).

Then I would like a "detail sheet" where a row is added each time an item is removed or added to the supply room. Remember there would be two web forms: one for removing items (where the quantity would be a negative number), and another for adding items (where the quantity would be a positive number). Each form would pull the item details from the "master sheet", but upon submitting the form they would send the new row to the "detail sheet" so that we had a record of every time something was removed or added to the supply room.