Formula or Rules to AutoPopulate Columns in Sheet

I have a master data sheet where a team of 30+ people will be adding 2021 data and creating our annual plan.

To make it easier for them to complete the sheet, I wanted to have the ability to autopopulate certain columns based on their answer from a drop down choice in an earlier column.

As an example:

1) If they select "Specific Product Name" as a drop down choice, I want to autopopulate "Therapeutic Area" and "Business Area" and "Sub Business Area" columns automatically.

2) If they select "Program type" as a drop down choice, I want to autopopulate "Program Weight" category.

etc....

I wasn't sure if that was done using a formula, automation or rule, or if I had to cross reference a separate data sheet.

I have been searching the forum and don't seem to find this specific situation.

Thank you for your help!

Best Answers

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Jo-Ann,

You could use multiple IF functions. How many different options can there be?

Also, would the auto added values need to be changed?

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please help the Community by marking it as the accepted answer/helpful. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Jo-Ann Turning
    Jo-Ann Turning ✭✭✭✭

There would only be one option tied to each selection.

If they selected "Advisory Board" in the Program Type drop down, I want "1" to show up in Program Weighting column.